My Pinterest Adventures

31 Projects in 31 Days

Day 3 – Blackhead Removal

on October 3, 2012

Alrighty, Day 3! Today’s project was to do a mini-facial to help remove blackheads. Nothing is greater than rolling down a hill to 40 and having to buy wrinkle cream AND acne cream. Blech. So, I was very excited to try this little project, because I have a lot of tiny blackheads on my nose and chin. Here is the pin: http://pinterest.com/pin/214835844695533330/

Unfortunately, the only camera I have right now is the one on my cell phone, and it is far from fantastic. I did try to take before and after pics, but you just couldn’t see the little blackheads. Aren’t you relieved, LOL? In any case, I boiled my water with dried basil and I used “stress relieving” essential oil. It smells a little eucalyptus-y. Combined with the steaming water and basil, it smelled amazing. I gladly covered my head with a towel, leaned over the bowl and took several deep, cleansing breaths. Relaxing!!!

Once I felt sufficiently sweaty, I took the baking soda paste (I made while my water was coming to a boil) and smeared it on my problem areas. It started to sting just a little. After a minute, I wet my hands with warm water and scrubbed gently. I didn’t have to use much pressure, as baking soda is pretty abrasive. I rinsed well, then splashed several times with cold water. Then I looked in the mirror.

My face was a little pink… not sure if it was from the scrubbing, or from the actual baking soda. Looking closely, the end of my nose was a little flaky/dry looking. And, to my dismay, I couldn’t see that any of my blackheads had disappeared. 😦 I ran for my soothing sensitive skin moisturizer and quenched my still-stinging face.

So, all in all, I must say I consider this a fail. And I certainly wouldn’t recommend it if you have sensitive skin. However, the next time I decide to apply a clay masque -or maybe just need to destress- I’m definitely doing the steaming step! 🙂 Happy Pinning!

Leave a Reply

