My Pinterest Adventures

31 Projects in 31 Days

Day 2 – DIY Vitamin Water

on October 3, 2012

Sorry for the lateness of this post, I was not slacking yesterday, I just didn’t get a chance to post! I was very busy after work, babysitting my adorable 8 month old nephew!  I did however, do my Day 2 project. Vitamin Water. I think it would be better described as Enhanced Water, because I’m not sure how many vitamins are actually in it, since I’m not adding supplements… but you get the idea! And it is healthy, since it only contains water and natural fruit. Here is the link I used: http://pinterest.com/pin/214835844695567514/

Now, there are a couple of things I didn’t see in the instructions. The first was exactly how much fruit to use. The second was how long to let it ‘marinate.’ But, those things can most likely be remedied by Googling how to make Vitamin Water. I’m sure someone has it down to an exact science. I, however, am attempting to lose my “all or nothing” mentality, so we will attempt to accept less-than-perfect results. Yet another reason this 31 day challenge is good for me. But that’s another post 😉

As you can see, there are a variety of different flavor combinations you could choose. The sky is the limit. Next time I’m at the store, I plan on picking up ingredients to do a cucumber/peach infusion and also some fresh herbs. I’m thinking mint and tarragon. (I really need to start my own herb garden!) But for yesterday, I just used what I had on hand. I did one mixed berry and one raspberry lime. Now, I don’t expect these to be sweet, just flavored. And that is fine with me, I don’t like super sweet flavored waters. However, if you do prefer a sweet water, then I’m sure you could add Truvia (or your sweetner of choice) to taste.

Here is a picture of my results:

    Not as pretty as the pictures I saw, but hopefully it tastes good. I haven’t tried them yet, so I will have to update this evening! I figured they needed to sit for a while to get a good flavor, and since it was pretty late when I put them together, I decided to leave them over night. The instructions do say that you can re-use the same fruit 3 times, so when you drink all of your water, you can just fill it right back up.

I could tell by looking at them last night, that I’m going to need to strain them before drinking. If you don’t mind little bits of berries and pulp, then it won’t matter. To me, it matters. When I’m drinking water, I do not want to be sucking down little bits of seeds and fruit. It. Grosses. Me. Out. I also won’t eat yogurt if it has fruit pieces in it, but that’s neither here nor there.

I can’t officially deem this a success or a failure until I taste it, so you will have to wait until this evening for results. Be blessed!

UPDATE: So I tried both of my waters. On the raspberry lime, I think I should have put in more raspberry, but it has a great lime flavor. (I probably used a scant 1/4 cup of raspberries). The mixed berry has a delicious berry flavor. I used about 1/2 cup of mixed berries, and I think I may need to mash up the blackberries a little more. But all in all, a success & I can’t wait to try more. Hooray!!!

Leave a Reply

